2017 looks to be a year of some highly anticipated movies. Most months feature something I’m looking forward to seeing. Below you’ll find the movies I’m looking forward to for each month. Those in bold are ones I really want to see and most looking forward to. But before that let’s break it down into my five most anticipated movies of 2017 and most anticipated and least anticipated months.


Top 5 Most Anticipated Movies

*Before I begin the list, I must say this was hard to par down to just five and decide which movie I am anticipating more. Those in bold I am anticipating but this list consists of films I must see in the theater. Deciding which I had to see in the theater helped me choose.

Image result for fate of the furious poster

5. Fast 8

Originally this was going to be a tie between The Dark Tower and It but since I don’t know or haven’t seen anything from either it’s hard for me to anticipate them. I love Stephen King’s works but until I see more I’m more hooked on seeing the eighth installment in the Fast and Furious franchise which I really enjoy (at least 1, 4, 5-7 anyway).

blade-runner-2049

4. Blade Runner 2049

I’m a big fan of the original so I’m really anticipating seeing how Denis Villenue is going to pay homage to the original while reinvigorating the story with a great cast of old and new.

Image result for star wars episode 8 poster

3. Star Wars: Episode VIII

You would think this would be higher on my list but since we know and have seen nothing of it and it being a full year away it’s a little hard for me to be too pumped over it. Don’t get me wrong I’m excited to see what the next installment brings but the two below this have done a better job (so far) of peaking my interest.

alien-covenant

2. Alien: Covenant

The trailer for this film recently dropped and so did my jaw. This looks like a culmination of the best of the series (which I’m a big fan of) so I’m hoping Ridley Scott will give us an incredible Alien experience.

kong-skull-island-poster-2

1. Kong Skull Island

Surprised? Don’t be. If you’ve read the About page you’ll know the original 1933 King Kong is what got me into film making in the first place. The trailer looks incredible. It looks so thrilling, funny, and still pays respect to the original. I’m pumped to see Kong return to the big screen in a good way.

Which month(s) am I most anticipating?
March has solid looking films coming out basically every week, but July looks jam packed with great summer blockbusters so July wins as the most anticipated month overall.

Which month(s) look the worst?
Surprisingly January doesn’t look half bad…that’s all based on opinion of course, but I do want to see all those movies, and it is exciting to see M. Night Shyamalan return to his roots with what I hear is a great psychological thriller/horror. That being said August looks to be the worst with absolutely nothing coming out that I want to see with April and September following suit. April at least has Fast 8 which I really want to see and September has It. It looks like we’re going to hit a dry spell after summer and before fall. At least It is in the dry spell so we have that to look forward to.

Total there are 32 movies I am looking forward to seeing this year with 20 that I would definitely like to see in the theater.

January

  • Underworld: Blood Wars
  • xXx: Return of Xander Cage
  • Split

February

  • The Lego Batman Movie
  • The Great Wall
  • Cloverfield 3

March

  • Logan
  • Kong Skull Island
  • Beauty and the Beast
  • King Arthur: Legend of the Sword
  • Ghost in the Shell

April

  • The Case for Christ?
  • Fast and Furious 8

May

  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
  • Alien Covenant
  • Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales

June

  • Wonder Woman
  • The Mummy
  • Cars 3
  • Transformers: The Last Knight (Optimistic but skeptical)

July

  • Spider-Man: Homecoming
  • War for the Planet of the Apes
  • Dunkirk
  • The Dark Tower

August

  • *Nothing so far

September

  • It

October

  • Blade Runner 2049
  • Insidious Chapter 4

November

  • Thor: Ragnarok
  • Justice League

December

  • Star Wars Episode VIII
  • Jumanji
  • Pitch Perfect 3
  • Ferdinand
