This is a list of the 12 worst movies I saw in 2016. These are not all brand new releases of 2016; these are movies I had never seen before. I found them to be either disappointing or unbearable.


barry-poster12. Barry

Barry is well shot and well acted but features a pointless, lackluster view into the life of America’s current lame duck President. It is clearly a propaganda piece that is trying to wipe away any ill feelings Obama left the American people. Read my full review.

 

 

 

krampus-2015-poster11. Krampus

Another severely disappointing  movie. I was expecting an awesome Christmas horror film (since there is basically none, save for Black Christmas which I have not seen). The director, Michael Doughtery, did Trick r’ Treat which is a clever Halloween anthology film. Trick r’ Treat isn’t great but it stands out in the sea of mainly trashy horror movies nowadays. Krampus was unsatisfying since it lacked the punch, scares, and creativity the promotional content was promising.

Independence Day: Resurgence (2016) Posters - TrailerAddict10. Independence Day: Resurgence

This movie was honestly a let down. It’s a mindless action flick with a lot of issues but you can still have fun watching it though it not be a worthy follow up to the first.

 

 

 

hope_floats | CURVY Magazine – Every Woman9. Hope Floats

Hope Floats presented a disengaging plot with characters I just couldn’t connect with. The look and feel of movie is a dime-a-dozen so there are better choices out there. This movie is littered with cliches. Plot elements differ but I suggest Sweet Home Alabama instead.

 

Constantine poster

8. Constantine

I had seen promotional clips and thought this movie would be awesome…wrong. Constantine features some cool sequences but overall the plot isn’t captivating and towards the end I was ready to shut it off. Please watch Van Helsing instead.

 

 

 

manhunter poster

7. Manhunter

This is the first film that kicked off the ‘Hannibal Lecter’ franchise. Listen to our review to further hear my thoughts on this one.

 

 

 

 

 

Duck, You Sucker / one sheet / 1980 re-release / USA

6. Duck You Sucker

This is Sergio Leone’s sixth film. I had high expectations for this film because of the brilliant The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly and Once Upon a Time in the West. I hear Once Upon a Time in America is a masterpiece but I have yet to see it. Duck You Sucker aka Once Upon a Time in the Revolution aka A Fistful of Dynamite is the second part in his ‘Once Upon a Time…’ trilogy. Can you watch this film and enjoy it for its cinematic value? Yes. Leone does things that are visually stunning but this is also to his detriment because he does them too much. The characters aren’t dynamic like the characters in his other films and neither is the story. I was shocked at how much I did not like this film. Very disappointing.


 

 

 

west-world-poster

 

5. Westworld

I watched this because of the HBO revival/remake (which I still haven’t seen). Read my review to further hear my thoughts.

 

 

 

 

Table for Three (2009) Poster

4. Table for Three

I was forced to watch this against my will…oh by is it bad…no…this is scum. I gave it 2 stars out of 10 and I downright hated it. I like Brandon Routh from Superman Returns and Sophia Bush from One Tree Hill. What more can I say? This movie is disgustingly bad.

 

 

Birdemic-poster.jpg

3. Birdemic: Shock and Terror

….What can I possibly say about Birdemic? It’s the worst rip-off imaginable of Alfred Hitchcock’s The Birds. Should anyone watch this movie that has a 1.8 on IMDB? Yes actually. I watched this with a group of friends and we had loads of fun making fun of it. That’s all it’s good for. I will probably never watch it again but…it’s possible a may years to come just for a good laugh. Otherwise this movie is an abomination. It should be noted this movie does actually have a cult following. Oh and oddly enough you can pick it up on Blu-ray at Best Buy.

THE WITCH (2015) Movie Trailer & Poster: Indie-Horror Bewitches ...

2. The Witch

Some may be surprised as to this one. The Witch has strong performances and is very well shot but it’s mainstream promotion of evil over good and the triumph of Satan. This film made me feel disgusting and in need of prayer. The Witch actually made our ‘Films to Avoid’ list. NEVER SEE THE WITCH!!!

 

 

Troll 2 (1990) It's...It's Like A Gift (plus a bonus review)

1. Troll 2

Yikes…this one actually hurt. Towards the last third my body was actually in physical pain because of how aweful this movie is. Troll 2 has actually become a cult classic and has tons of ‘gif’ moments. Can you watch this with your friends to have a good time? Yes but be warned you are in for a hard time once you reach a certain point. Don’t get me wrong, the ENTIRE movie is terrible but this one is so bad I believe it takes my spot as the worst movie I’ve seen of all time. Tread lightly and enter with caution. *Sidenote: That poster actually has nothing to do with the movie. Terrible marketing.


I’m looking forward to making another list in 2017! Will it be my top 12? Maybe not…maybe it will be 11, 13, or even under 10. Under 10 would be nice. But who knows. See you in 2017!

