Spongebob Squarepants: Sponge Out Of Water…oh my. I have not seen many of the newer seasons of Spongebob Squarepants since the last movie came out in 2004. I’ve seen a few here and there, but the first three seasons were always my favorites. The Spongebob Squarepants Movie was to mark the end of Spongebob and wrap the show. But because of the money it brought in from the box office, Nickelodeon didn’t want to let the show go just yet. So not long after the first movie, Spongebob was revamped. It disregarding the events that occurred in the movie and the show kept going. And here in 2015 we get yet another Spongebob movie.

 

So let’s jump right in, a big issue I have with Spongebob Squarepants: Sponge Out of Water (or Spongebob 2) is a reason for its existence. I don’t see why this movie needs to be here, it brings nothing new to the table. It is just a crazy story with no focus. In Spongebob 1 the movie was dumb and crazy, and random events occurred, but it stayed focused on its story, which was for Spongebob and Patrick to get Neptune’s Crown from Shell City. In Spongebob 2, we have Spongebob and Plankton first going back in time to get the Krabby Patty formula because it vanished from a failed plan from Plankton, but then towards the end the movie switches to a completely different movie all together and becomes this CG superhero flick that is balls to the wall insane. This movie, it has no focus.

poster-22088

Something that I’ve always liked about Spongebob was the jokes. But in Spongebob 2, they often fall flat because the writers feel they need to be explained to the audience. This was something special about Spongebob 1 (and the TV show as well at this time), the jokes it cracks were funny and subtle (at times) and satire-y. Since then the show has changed a lot, some of those who worked on it before the movie did not return when the show did, and the show has suffered because of this I feel. It no longer has the charm it once had as the #1 kids TV show back when it first aired. And Spongebob 2 is a clear example of this. Spongebob has moved from this silly, ignorant character to more baby-like and stupid.

 

Spongebob 2 brings nothing new to the table other than an unfocused story and jokes that don’t reach the level they think they are reaching, as well as a new slew of characters. In Spongebob 1 we are introduced to, at the very least, a few new ones, King Neptune, Mindy, Dennis as well as some other extras to help move the story along. But Spongebob 2 doesn’t really have anything new except for the Narrator, his posse of pigeons and…a clay-mated intergalactic dolphin? I think this is something that it suffers from, the lack of new characters (recycled plot too, just beating a dead horse), keeps this movie from really flowing, at bay. I was interested to see where Spongebob 1 was going to go because of all of the creativity and insane stuff being thrown on the screen.

 

There are a few good things in Spongebob 2. The jokes that work are chuckle worthy (but that’s about it). The animation is good, even when they get on land, it looks good for what it needs to be. But my favorite part was the music, it took a serious upgrade from Spongebob 1. I give it props for that. I also feel the development for Plankton does actually work here…that is until the end. I like how we do see Plankton change progressively as the movie goes on. I won’t give away what it is, but it worked for his character I thought and it was a good progression. But in the end it’s given up for the show and it all goes back to normal. It was good while it lasted tho. But, it’s just small things that are an improvement from Spongebob 1, nothing major. Kids will have a great time with this movie with the random stuff. I don’t see the need for it to be here, and I don’t see any creativity being shown to me except for weird, arbitrary events. I give it a 4/10…I mean really, what did you expect?

4

